Phoenix launches water education campaign about Colorado River

By Pratham Dalal
Published: Friday, October 21, 2022 - 4:09pm

The city of Phoenix is hosting a series of town halls about how citizens can prepare for the Southwest’s worsening water shortage.

Arizona has already had its water allocation from the Colorado river reduced by 18% this year with another 3% next year. In June, Phoenix activated its Drought Management Plan and declared a Stage 1 water alert. The alert begins an educational campaign.

Over the next four weeks, the city of Phoenix will host nine informational sessions At the meetings, experts will explain the drought management plan and encourage voluntary conservation of water.

The first event is on Saturday, Oct. 22, at Burton Barr Central Library starting at 11 a.m.

There will also be meetings on:

  • Thursday, Oct. 27, Sunnyslope Community Center at 6 p.m.
  • Thursday, Nov. 3, Longview Neighborhood Recreation Center at 6 p.m.
  • Wednesday Nov. 9, Saguaro Library at 12 p.m.
  • Thursday, Nov. 10, Goelet A.C. Beuf Community Center at 6 p.m.
  • Saturday, Nov. 12, Maryvale Community Center at 10 a.m.
  • Monday Nov. 14, Paradise Valley Community Center at 6 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Nov. 15, virtual meeting via Webex at 6 p.m.
  • Wednesday, Nov. 16, South Mountain Community Library at 6 p.m.
Water